受獎人消息

吳季璁個展「Far from East」

十一月 16, 2017 - 十二月 10, 2017

吳季璁參與德國貝塔寧藝術村與台灣文化部合作的駐村計劃,將在2017年11月16日至12月10日於柏林舉辦個展《Far from East》,展出其近期創作,包括裝置、攝影與錄像。

吳季璁的創作早期由媒體藝術切入,探討影像與觀看的本質,近年來積極拓展其研究範疇,橫跨東西方文化藝術,作品融合傳統美學與當代藝術語言,在觀念性的辯證與多元的表現形式中,依舊保有東方文人式的感性與浪漫。

展覽以《水晶城市》作為開端,帶領觀眾進入藝術家的視閾。日常生活中平凡的塑膠包裝盒在強烈光源照射下,銳利清晰的影子比物件本身更加強烈真實,映照出彷彿高樓林立的城市景象。在此作品中,吳季璁敏銳地觀察到當代生活中虛擬與真實之間的模糊界線,當網路世界(Cyber space)成為我們的日常生活空間時,熟為真實?孰為幻象?

皴法習作》與《氰山集》則重新定義影像與繪畫的交界。《皴法習作》系列攝影作品,發想自水墨畫中的「皴法」概念。皴法是傳統中國文人繪畫中的核心技法,以書法的筆墨精神,對山石紋理概括描繪,畫家藉此投射個人內心的山水景物,寄情其中。《皴法習作》運用古老的氰版技術( Cyanotype ),以無相機攝影( Photogram)的手法替代筆墨,將感光藥劑塗佈於宣紙上,乾燥後在陽光下曝光,而後水洗定影記錄下皺摺紋理的光影變化,成像宛如山水景致。而《氰山集》延續《皴法習作》的氰版直接攝影,將曝曬過後的紙張以蒙太奇(Montage)的手法拼貼成叢山萬嶺的景象,進一步探究傳統繪畫的美學。

最後,作品《小品之六 菊》將傳統折枝花卉的繪畫形式,翻譯成具時間性的動態影像,以錄像裝置的形式呈現,投影在懸浮的空白卷軸上,悠遠飄妙的意境,宛如逐漸消散的模糊記憶。小品系列源自-藝術家對於當代藝術的喟嘆,與對傳統藝術的緬懷。

伴隨著全球化,當代藝術在歐美強勢文化的主導下快速擴張,不斷地顛覆與創新,卻也斷裂於各地的傳統文化脈絡,加速許多區域性特有的藝術與美學的消逝。成長於傳統的藝術養成,吳季璁特別有感于此斷裂,近年的創作,不斷地在東西方文化,傳統與當代藝術之間,尋求兼容平衡的可能。

遠東(Far East)是以歐洲為中心的地理觀念,對於東亞區域的總稱。然而在這全球化的時代,遙遠的東方早已不再遙遠,卻也早已不再東方。

更多 »
Performance / Taiwan

莎士比亞的妹妹們的劇團《重考時光》

十一月 24, 2017 - 十二月 3, 2017

視覺藝術介入劇場第三部曲
兩廳院駐館藝術家 Baboo × 視覺藝術家 周育正 × 日本觀念藝術家 河原溫
如何可能?存在,如何可能?我,如何可能?

一幅日期畫,一張紀錄起床時間的明信片,一本只有名字的日記,一個標示位置與路線的地圖,一封永遠只有一行字的電報。消失,如何可能?存在,如何可能?我,如何可能?

靈感來自日本觀念藝術家河原溫(On Kawara),兩廳院駐館藝術家Baboo與視覺藝術家周育正,聯手視覺藝術介入劇場的第三部曲。用停車場這個「非地方」的過渡空間/時間出發,通過身體、運動、事件與空間的移動路徑,重新探測日常生活的地理學。

演出交織當下日常與重大事件,個人經驗與集體記憶,並置真實與再現,景觀與奇觀,從變動的場域性到流動的人際關係,構作停車場為文本的景觀敘事。

更多 »

Grantee: Baboo Liao

Performance / Taiwan

《Kei zemihwng─我們還有詩和遠方》

十一月 10, 2017 - 十一月 12, 2017

2011年推出創團作品《寂靜時刻—Inllungan na Kneril》 (2013年獲得第11屆台新藝術獎表演藝術類年度首獎)、2015年受大學委託,創作《歸來吧—Iminami na pazay》之後,「UTUX泛靈樂舞劇會所」將再度推出全新製作《Kei zemihwng—我們還有詩和遠方》。

此次創作發想於藝術總監碧斯蔚.梓佑(Pisui Ciyo)與排灣族古調暨鼻笛傳藝師少妮瑤.久分勒分(Sauniaw Tjuveljevel) 在今年五月TEDxTaipei的共同合作。為了讓創作擁有更多重的面貌,UTUX不僅邀請少妮瑤與碧斯蔚再次攜手,還力邀音樂人Iván Alberto Flores Morán、didgeridoo樂 師大恭、影像創作者黃仁君、攝影家柯曉東、舞台設計楊澤之、音樂設計杜易昂協力創作,並結合劇場演員陳羿安、陸筱涵、王馨瑩、張珮郁等。 我們以深邃、質樸的台灣原住民族古調為底蘊,試圖透過身體、聲音與影像的交織,引領大家進入口傳文化的核心:你我『相遇』—那無法取代的當下。

更多 »

Grantee: Ciyo Pisui

Exhibition / Taiwan

光‧合作用-亞洲當代藝術同志議題展

九月 9, 2017 - 十一月 5, 2017

本展覽以「光」作為展覽主題名稱,首先希望回應同志社群裡以彩虹作為符號象徵和平、愛和多元訴求的歷史,彩虹即為光的折射,本為一體,藝術的展現以及同志議題的探討如光譜一樣擁有多樣和包容性,絕非光明與黑暗兩端的二元對立;其次,「光」是地球上生物生生不息的能量來源,它平等對待萬物,滋養生命,用光的作用帶來成長、希望和美善的目的。展覽聚焦在文化、語言、地緣關係和族群背景相近的香港、臺灣、中國、新加坡等地,邀請 22 組藝術家參與,展出共51 件作品,透過身份認同、平權議題、媒體消費現象、社會現實困境、個別/群體間的評論、人性慾望以及生與死等廣泛內容,呈現出二戰後華人 LGBTQ 社群的生活故事與相關議題,集結匯聚成了當代亞洲同志的歷史與生命情境。

更多 »

Grantees: Jun-Jieh Wang, Shih-Pin Hsi, Hui Yu Su

Exhibition / Taiwan

桃源異景──潘信華個展

九月 30, 2017 - 十一月 5, 2017

藝術家潘信華,1966年在台東太麻里出生,1991年畢業於國立藝術學院(今國立台北藝術大學)美術系,2011年至2015年間擔任國立台北藝術大學美術系助理教授。這次亞洲藝術中心的「桃源異景──潘信華個展」,已是潘信華在2017年的第三個展覽,此前在王嘉驥於銀川美術館所策之「聲東擊西──東亞水墨藝術的當代再造」以及吳超然於國立台灣美術館所策之「記憶的交織與重疊──後解嚴台灣水墨」大展,潘信華皆受邀參展

若論及台灣、中國、香港、日本、韓國的當代水墨藝術,或從台灣本身後解嚴時代的藝術發展觀之,潘信華因其獨特優異的藝術語言早已被肯定為不可或缺的中堅份子。

更多 »

Grantee: Hsin-Hua Pan

Alumni Events

Exhibition / Germany

Far From East, Wu Chi-Tsung Solo Exhibition

November 16, 2017 - December 10, 2017

Wu Chi-Tsung has participated in the artist-in-residency program co-organized by Taiwan’s Ministry of Culture and the Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin, Germany. From November 16th to December 10th, 2017, the program will present his solo exhibition “Far From East” at Berlin, showcasing his recent works, including installations, photography, and videos.

In Wu Chi-Tsung’s early works, he utilized media art to discuss the fundamentals of images and seeing. In recent years, he expanded his research field, traversing through the field of culture and art from East to West, as well as integrating traditional aesthetics and contemporary artistic concepts. In his dialectics and diverse way of practices, his artworks nonetheless preserved the sensibility and romance of an oriental literatus.

The exhibition begins with “Crystal City,” giving the audiences a glimpse of the artist’s point of view. Under the radiating light, the sharp and clear shadows of the ordinary plastic boxes became distinct, projecting a view resembling a concrete jungle of skyscrapers. In this artwork, Wu Chi-Tsung observes the ambiguous boundary between reality and fantasy, questioning as the cyber space took a major part in our daily lives, then what is real, and what is illusory?

Wrinkled-Texture” and “Cyano-Collage” redefine the junction of photography and painting. The photography series “Wrinkled-Texture” is inspired by the “texturing method”, which is the core technique of Chinese literati painting. Cultivating the technique and the spirit of calligraphy, artists draw down a representational depiction of mountains and stones, which serve as the projection of his inner-thoughts. In “Wrinkled Texture”, Wu utilized cyanotype techniques to apply a photosensitive emulsion on Chinese rice papers, and then exposed the hand-wrinkled papers under the sunlight. After washing off extra emulsion, the shades and the patterns of the wrinkled papers were documented. The complete imagery resembles Chinese landscape – Shan Shui, which Wu substitutes ink and brush with photogram. “Cyano-Collage” inherits the cyanotype photography “Wrinkled-Texture.” The exposed rice papers were collaged into mountains, allowing the artist to further probe into the aesthetics of traditional paintings.

Lastly, the artwork “Still-Life 006 – Chrysanthemum” translates the traditional cut-branch flower painting into a time based moving image. As a video installation, the piece is projected on a hanging scroll, suggesting an outlying and ephemeral scenery that is akin to a vaguely fleeting memory. “Still-Life” series is originated from the artist’s awe to contemporary art and his nostalgia to traditional art.

Given the dominance role of European and American culture in globalization, contemporary art has been rapidly expanding, revolutionizing and innovating. However, it is disconnected to local traditional cultural contexts, increasing the disappearance of unique regional arts and aesthetics. Raised under traditional art cultivation, Wu Chi-Tsung is deeply aware of such disconnection. In his recent artworks, Wu has been finding the possible balance between Eastern and Western cultures, as well as traditional and contemporary art.

The term “Far East” is a Eurocentric geographical concept. Yet, in a globalized epoch, Far East is no longer far away, and the East is no longer east.

more »

Grantee: Chi-Tsung Wu

Performance / Taiwan

Shakespeare's Wild Sisters Group-Caged Time

November 24, 2017 - December 3, 2017

Inspired by Japanese conceptual artist On Kawara, NTCH Artist-in-Residence Baboo teams up with visual artist CHOU Yu-cheng for this third installment of the director's Visual Art and Theater series. Set in a transitional time and space, the production re-investigates the geography in our daily lives. By incorporating important current events, personal experience, and collective memory, Caged Time presents a juxtaposition of reality and recreations, scenery and spectacles, changing sites and fluidity of relationships, to construct this landscape narrative of a parking garage.

more »

Grantee: Baboo Liao

Performance / Taiwan

《Profound speech: we are still reciting far beyond》

November 10, 2017 - November 12, 2017

After the performance on TED Taipei in May, 2017, Sauniaw Tjuveljevelj, inheritor of Paiwan ancient songs et expert of nose flute, will re-cooperate in Kei Zemihwng with Pisui Ciyo, Tayan theatre artist and the Taishin Performing Arts award winner, also with the participation of Mexican musician Iván Flores, theatre actresses, Lu Shiau-Han, Zhang Peng-Yu, Wang Shin-Ying, and Huang Ren-Jun as video designer. 

Based on the profound purity of ancient vibration songs, Kei Zemihwng will share with spectators, through body, vocal and image creations, the core of oral culture:“Meeting” between “you” and “me”, the irreplaceable presence.

more »

Grantee: Ciyo Pisui

Exhibition / Taiwan

Spectrosynthesis - Asian LGBTQ Issues and Art Now

September 9, 2017 - November 5, 2017

Employing “spectrum of light” as the theme, this exhibition addresses LGBTQ community’s rich history and its appeals for peace, love and diversity with rainbow as its symbol. On the one hand, the spectrum of colors can be seen in a rainbow, a phenomenon caused by the refraction of white light. Rainbow and light are two sides of the same coin, implying that this exhibition is not about the binary opposition between light and darkness, but as diverse and inclusive as the spectrum in terms of its artistic expression and exploration of LGBTQ issues. On the other hand, light is the everlasting source of energy for the creatures on Earth. It treats and nurtures all living organisms fairly and equally, and promises them growth, hope, and kindness. Based on their similar backgrounds in culture, language, geographical location and ethnicity, 22 artists from Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Singapore are showcased in the exhibition with a total of 51 artworks. The exhibition represents the life stories and related issues of the post-war Chinese LGBTQ community as the artworks on view touch upon a profusion of subject matters such as identity, equality, exploitation by mass media, social predicaments, comments on individuals/groups, human desire, as well as life and death. 

more »

Grantees: Jun-Jieh Wang, Shih-Pin Hsi, Hui Yu Su

Exhibition / Taiwan

Arcadia Curiosities: Pan Hsinhua Solo Exhibition

September 30, 2017 - November 5, 2017

PAN Hsinhua was born in Taimili of Taitung County in 1966. He graduated from the Department of Fine Arts at the National Institute of the Arts (currently known as Taipei National University of the Arts) in 1991 and held a teaching position at Taipei National University of the Arts as an assistant professor between 2011 and 2015. The exhibition “Arcadia Curiosities – Pan Hsinhua Solo Exhibition” at Asia Art Center is Pan Hsinhua’s third exhibition in 2017; Pan Hsinhua was invited to exhibit in “Crisscrossing East and West: The Remaking of Ink Art in Contemporary East Asia” curated by Chia-Chi Wang at Yinchuan Museum of Contemporary Art, as well as “Memories Interwoven and Overlapped: Post-Martial Law Era Ink Painting in Taiwan”, the grand exhibition at National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts curated by Chao-Jen Wu. 

As far as contemporary ink art in Taiwan, China, Hong Kong, Japan and Korea, or even considering the art development in the period since the lifting of martial law in Taiwan, Pan Hsinhua has become an irreplaceable force for his uniquely brilliant artistic language.

more »

Grantee: Hsin-Hua Pan