Composer and percussionist Susie Ibarra’s (ACC 2007, 2018) Fragility Etudes explores humanity’s interdependence with the natural environment through a world of sound. One of SPIN’s “100 Greatest Drummers of Alternative Music,” Ibarra brings together six musicians—including Cibo Matto co-founder Yuka C. Honda and Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe who scored the recent Candyman remake—in a dynamic score of overlapping rhythms experienced in the round.

The Fragility Etudes film by Yuka C. Honda will be screened in Club B10 from 2-5pm on Saturday, November 20, and is included with museum admission.

Ensemble performance and soloists
Jennifer Choi: violin
Daniel Louis Doña: viola
Yuka C. Honda: electronics
Susie Ibarra: drum set and percussion
Jake Landau: pianos and pianet
Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe: voice and modular synthesizers

Fragility Etudes was commissioned by Asia Society Museum, New York, for the inaugural Asia Society Triennial 2021: We Do Not Dream Alone.