常见问题

资格

以往的受奖人可再次申请。ACC特别有意帮助会友加强及拓展他们在全球的联系网络。会友可申请任何奖助类别,但有以下例外:
1.    过往驻留纽约奖助计划的受奖人不符合资格再次申请纽约奖助计划。
2.    如会友在过往获得过6个月的奖助计划,或是类似的大型项目资助,他们未必有机会再次获得同水平的奖助金。
 

可以,申请者有可能获得项目资助到他们的出生国家或是以往居住过的国家。但是,为了更具备申请优势,申请方案拟议的计划须对发展更深入的文化了解作出贡献。

如申请者是适用国家的公民/居民,ACC将会考虑其申请方案。但是,有助建立美国与亚洲,或亚洲国家之间的社群连系及相互了解的方案会较具竞争力,而不论申请者的居住地点。如申请者主要在亚洲及美国以外的地区工作,其申请方案有很大机会不符合上述条件。

是。虽然有很多驻留美国的申请者是美国公民或永久居民,但申请者不需要持有特定的移民/签证许可状态。要成为来自美国的申请者,在申请时,您的主要居住地必须是美国。另外,大部分美国项目资助受奖人符合以下条件:(1)在提交申请前,他们已居住在美国至少一年;(2)他们在美国工作,及/或正就读美国的硕士/博士课程;及(3)在完成奖助计划後,他们打算继续以美国作为主要居住地。

是。即使您已开始修读课程,您仍可以申请研究所项目资助。当您在申请过程时填写资格审查表,请以在原居地申请的情况下回答问题,以确保合适的审批者审视您的申请。

这个理由本身不足以构成一个具优势的申请方案,但是,如果您符合其他条件,您并没有失去申请资格。

我们主要希望您能提供证明,展示自己持续投身於创作,作为您是否专业艺术家的凭据。而非您能否以您的艺术创作维持生计。

ACC对新晋艺术家和具一定成就的艺术家一视同仁。最重要的是,ACC奖助并不是一个艺术家的奖赏或奖项;奖助计划目标为鼓励更多具影响力的文化交流,如果申请书不符合此标准,即使申请者备受肯定,亦不会别具优势。另一方面,相比其他经验稍丰的申请者,新毕业生亦不一定具更大优势,尤其是如您在艺术上尚未有太多往绩。ACC过去所资助的会友年龄包括二十至八十岁,亦无年龄上限制。
 

至顶

申请方案

设立奖助计划的目的是文化交流。协会的奖助及项目资助是以提供具意义的参与丶对跨文化理解的重大贡献丶或交流优秀的艺术历练。亚洲文化协会不资助巡演丶演出丶展览或其他为作品创作,或为拓展海外观众的文化交流。这并非指您的计划目标不能有创作或展示新作品。然而成功的计划书将展示出愿意投身到探索不同文化的过程。

由於工作室驻留计划通常着重於创作新作品,而非提供机会参与和探索工作室以外的当地文化,这类方案虽符合申请资格,但在竞争上不会占优先位置。

就您的奖助而言,到访的国家数量并没有限制。然而我们视文化薰陶和深入交流为首要,如您的申请计划为短期内到访不同国家,可能减低其竞争力。优异的方案将能解释到访每个国家的必要原因,以实践其拟议的计划

除非是在特别情况下而ACC已书面批准,您不能作多次行程。这政策关系到我们以长期深度交流为首要,所以我们希望资助能用在支持更多人士,而非支持多次国际机票费用。如您认为您的申请方案是特殊情况,请您在申请前以电邮联络我们以解释您的处境。
 

批发奖助後,我们需要时间准备奖助合约,并安排发放奖助金。奖助得主虽可早至在六月一日开展计划,如果您需要先确保已获取资金才能详细筹备计划,或需要先取得资助才出发,我们亦建议申请时提议较後的开展日期。
 

个人奖助计划允许最多两名合作夥伴,申请者必须共同提交一个申请。如您是寻求适合多於两人的资助,而您持有正式非牟利注册,或是得到非牟利/非政府机构的财政担保,您可申请团体及计划资助。
 

至顶

经费及财政预算

我们没有一个固定奖助计划的资助额范围。由於有些目的地国家的生活指数比较高,而奖助计划为期一至六个月不等,所以资助总额会有所不同。

有关纽约奖助计划,基本财政预算应已计算所有开支。有关个人奖助计划丶研究所奖学金,与团体及计划资助,ACC会尽量提供足够资金予拟议的活动,但最终颁发的项目资助亦有可能低於申请者需求。

如提交的财政预算远少於申请方案的拟议范围,有可能是您没有作足够的资料搜集,而未有足够准备执行拟议计划。您的财政预算须根据您的资料搜集及最佳判断而作出一个实际可行的估算。如您申请成功,ACC职员将会为您最终的财政预算提供建议,或使用标准的计算方法以计算项目资助。

至顶

其他问题

您可在联络我们页找到亚洲文化协会的联络方式。

至顶

Frequently Asked Questions

Eligibility

Yes. ACC is a multi-year process of program evaluation and strategic planning. During this period, we have continued to work across all regions through partnerships with organizations.

Past grant recipients are eligible to apply again, and ACC is especially interested in helping alumni strengthen and extend their international networks. Alumni may apply in any grant category, with the following exceptions:

  1. Past recipients of a New York-based fellowship are not eligible to apply for the New York Fellowship Program.
  2. Alumni who have received a six-month fellowship or similarly large grant in the past are not likely to be given another grant of similar size.

Yes, individuals may receive funding to return to a country where they were born or have previously lived. However, in order to be competitive, the project must still contribute to advancing greater cultural understanding.

ACC will consider proposals from any applicant who meets the criteria of being EITHER a citizen OR a resident of an eligible country. However, these applications will only be competitive if they build community and further greater understanding between the U.S. and Asia, or between countries in Asia, regardless of where the applicant resides. If the applicant primarily works outside of Asia and the U.S., there is a good chance these criteria will not be met.

Yes. While many of our U.S.-based applicants are American citizens or permanent residents, ACC does not require a specific immigration/visa status. To be considered as a U.S.-based applicant, the U.S. must be your country of primary residence when you apply. Additionally, the majority of U.S. grant recipients meet the following criteria: (1) the U.S. has been their country of primary residence for at least one year prior to applying; (2) they work in the U.S. and/or are enrolled in a graduate program in the U.S.; and (3) they plan for the U.S. to continue to be their country of primary residence after completing their grant.

Yes, you may apply for a Graduate Scholarship even if you have already started the program of study. When you fill out the eligibility form during the application process, please answer the questions as if you were applying from home to ensure that your application is seen by the appropriate reviewers.

In and of itself, this would not make a strong proposal, but it is not disqualifying if other criteria are met.

To be considered a professional artist, you must show evidence of sustained commitment to your practice, whether or not you are able to financially support yourself from your art.

ACC does not prioritize either early-career or established applicants. Most importantly, an ACC grant is not an award for previous work, and a candidate who has achieved renown will not be competitive if his or her proposal does not meet ACC’s criteria for cultural engagement and impact. However, a recent graduate who has produced little work is also not likely to be competitive. Past grant recipients have ranged in age from their 20s to their 80s, and there are no age restrictions.

Back to Top

Proposals

Because ACC’s mission is focused on cultural exchange, grants are primarily made to support travel that results in cultural immersion; meaningful engagement; significant contributions to greater cross-cultural understanding; and peer-to-peer dialogue, relationship-building, or the exchange of knowledge. ACC does not support touring, performance, exhibition, or other types of travel focused on the production of work or audience-driven outcomes. This does not mean that you cannot have an end-goal of creating or showing new work. However, successful proposals will show a strong commitment to engaging in a process of research or discovery.

Because studio residencies are often focused on the creation of new work and may not provide opportunities for engagement outside the studio, these types of proposals tend to be less competitive, though they are not ineligible.

There is no limit on the number of countries you may visit on your grant, but because cultural immersion and deep engagement are priorities, proposals for short trips to a number of different countries may be less competitive. A strong case should be made for why it is necessary to visit each country to carry out the proposed project.

Multiple trips are not allowed except in very rare circumstances and with prior written approval from ACC. This policy is related to the priority we place on long-term, immersive exchange, and so that our funds can be used to support more individuals rather than multiple international airfares. If you believe your proposal warrants an exception, please contact us by email to explain the circumstances before submitting an application.

After grant notification, additional time is required to administer the grant agreement and process payment requests. While applicants are free to begin their projects as early as June 1 in the year after they submitted an application, it is advisable to plan for a later start if project planning cannot take place prior to securing funding, or if the money must be received before activities can begin.

The Individual Fellowship program allows for up to two collaborators, who must apply together on a single application form. If funding is sought for more than two individuals, you may apply in the Organization and Project Grant program if you have official nonprofit/NGO status or fiscal sponsorship through a nonprofit organization/NGO.

Back to Top

Funding & Budgets

There is no fixed range for fellowship and grant awards. Because some destination countries are more expensive than others, and fellowships may involve travel from one to six months, funding amounts also vary accordingly.

For the New York Fellowship Program, a standard budget calculation is used that is intended to cover all expenses. For Individual Fellowships, Graduate Scholarships, and Organization and Project grants, ACC generally tries to commit enough funding that the proposed activities can happen, though awards might be lower than the amount requested.

If the submitted budget is too small for the scope of the project described, it might appear that you have not done enough research and are not qualified to carry out the project. Your budget should be a realistic estimate of the project costs based on research and your best judgement. If your application is successful, ACC staff may advise you on the final budget or apply standard formulas to determine the award amount.

Back to Top

Other Questions

Contact information for ACC can be found on the contact page.

Back to Top